Skip Over Navigation Links


NCATS Advisory Council Roster

Christopher P. Austin, M.D.
National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland
Executive Secretary
Danilo A. Tagle, Ph.D., M.S.
Associate Director for Special Initiatives
National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland

Council Members*

(Terms end 9/30 of designated year.)

Margaret A. Anderson, M.A. (2016)
Executive Director
Center for Accelerating Medical Solutions
Washington, D.C.

Jorge L. Contreras, J.D. (2016)
Associate Professor
S.J. Quinney College of Law
University of Utah
Adjunct Associate Professor
University of Utah School of Medicine
Salt Lake City, Utah

Pamela B. Davis, M.D., Ph.D. (2015)
Dean and Vice President for Medical Affairs
Office of the Dean
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, Ohio

Louis J. DeGennaro, Ph.D. (2016)
President and CEO
Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
White Plains, New York

Mary L. Disis, M.D. (2015)
Professor, Department of Medicine
Division of Oncology
University of Washington School of Medicine
Seattle, Washington

Frank L. Douglas, Ph.D., M.D. (2016)
President and CEO
Austen BioInnovation Institute in Akron
Akron, Ohio

Geoffrey S. Ginsburg, M.D., Ph.D. (2016)
Director, Center for Applied Genomics & Precision Medicine
Duke University Medical Center
Professor of Medicine, Pathology and Biomedical Engineering
Duke University School of Medicine
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Duke Pratt School of Engineering
Durham, North Carolina

Eric D. Kodish, M.D. (2016)
F.J. O'Neill Professor and Chairman
Department of Bioethics
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Cleveland, Ohio

Freda C. Lewis-Hall, M.D. (2015)
Chief Medical Officer
New York, New York

Bernard H. Munos, M.B.A. (2016)
InnoThink Center for Research in Biomedical Innovation
Indianapolis, Indiana

Harry P. Selker, M.D. (2018)
Executive Director
Institute for Clinical Research and Health Policy Studies
Tufts Medical Center
Clinical and Translational Science Institute 
Boston, Massachusetts

Anantha Shekhar, M.D., Ph.D. (2018)
Indiana Clinical and Translation
Sciences Institute
Associate Vice President
Clinical Affairs
Indiana University
Indianapolis, Indiana

Todd B. Sherer, Ph.D. (2015)
Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson's Research
New York, New York

Scott J. Weir, Pharm.D., Ph.D. (2016)
Institute for Advancing Medical Innovation
University of Kansas Cancer Center
Kansas City, Kansas

Representative Members

Ankit A. Mahadevia, M.D., M.B.A. (2016)
Atlas Venture
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Robert I. Tepper, M.D. (2016)
Third Rock Ventures, LLC
Boston, Massachusetts

Ad Hoc Members

Paul G. Yock, M.D. (2015)
Martha Meier Weiland Professor
Departments of Bioengineering and Medicine, Program in Biodesign
Stanford University
Stanford, California

Ex Officio Members

Department of Veterans Affairs
David Atkins, M.D., M.P.H.
Health Services Research and Development
Washington, D.C.

National Institutes of Health
Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D.
Bethesda, Maryland

Office of the Secretary, DHHS
Sylvia Mathews Burwell
Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, D.C.

Members of the NCATS Advisory Council also serve on the Cures Acceleration Network Review Board.

*One vacancy due to a deferral.